The Attorneys You Want On Your Side

How Do I Get My License Reinstated After a DUI in New Jersey?

On Behalf of | Aug 3, 2017 | Criminal Law, DUI |

Your step-by-step guide to driver’s license restoration after a DUI conviction

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) in the state of New Jersey is a serious offense that leads to significant penalties. In addition to jail time and steep monetary fines, you may lose your driving privileges for months or even years. Driver’s license suspension is one of the most common yet potentially life-altering penalties imposed as a result of a DUI. Without a driver’s license you may be unable to get to and from work thus impacting your ability to support yourself and your family. The length of your license suspension is directly tied to your prior history of DUI convictions. Typical suspension periods are:

  • three months for a first offense with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08-0.10%
  • at least seven months for a first offense with a BAC greater than 0.10%
  • two years for a second offense
  • 10 years for third and subsequent offenses

Depending on the circumstances of your arrest and conviction, the court has the discretion to extend these suspension sentences. Once your suspension period is over, you may be eligible to have your license reinstated. You may have to complete additional training or alcohol and drug abuse prevention courses prior to getting your driver’s license reinstated. To reinstate your driver’s license following a DUI conviction, you must follow standard renewal procedures and may be required to take another driving test. You must also pay a reinstatement fee of $100 on top of any other civil monetary penalties imposed as a result of your conviction.

Once your driver’s license is reinstated, you are subject to additional scrutiny for subsequent violations. If you commit a violation within a year of reinstatement, your license may be suspended for an additional:

  • 90 days for violations within six months of reinstatement
  • 60 days for violations within seven to nine months of reinstatement
  • 45 days for violations within 10-12 months of reinstatement

Second and subsequent violations within a year of reinstatement may lead to a suspension of up to six months. Following reinstatement of your driver’s license, you may also be required to use an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle. An IID prevents you from starting your vehicle until you provide a breath sample that measures your BAC.

After your arrest, it is important to contact an experienced DUI defense attorney to protect your rights and best interests. There may be ways to reduce the length of your driver’s license suspense and help you regain your privileges. Our dedicated and knowledge DWI defense attorneys are ready to investigate your case and develop a solid defense strategy. To schedule a consultation, call 732-482-9285 or send an email today.