In February, New Jersey became the 36th state to regulate ride-sharing businesses — including Uber and Lyft — with New Jersey Governor Chris Christie’s signing of the “Transportation Network Company Safety and Regulatory Act”. This new legislation requires that ride-share drivers and their employers meet certain insurance coverage standards, as well as submit to both driving and criminal background checks.
New Jersey’s Transportation Network Company Safety and Regulatory Act
According to this new law, ride-sharing companies are required to pay $25,000 to register their services with the state of New Jersey. The law also specifies that drivers who have been convicted of any of the following will be banned from employment by the ride-sharing company:
- Sexual assault
- Reckless driving
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI)
- Possession or sale of a controlled dangerous substance
Drivers must also be at least 21 years of age, and provide evidence of their driver’s license, vehicle registration, and insurance coverage. Ride-sharing companies are required to maintain records of each driver’s driving history for a period of five years and produce these records at the request of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission or Division of Consumer Affairs.
Injured ride-share passengers receive coverage
As part of this new legislation, ride-share passengers in New Jersey who sustain injury in an accident while being transported by a ride-sharing company will receive medical coverage through either the driver, the ride-sharing company, or both, that provides for $1.5 million in medical bills.
Personal injury law protects accident victims
Passengers who have suffered injury or death due to another person or entity’s neglect can find relief under personal injury law. In cases where individuals have suffered injury while riding as a passenger of an Uber, Lyft, or other ride-sharing service, the process of filing a personal injury claim can get complicated. Many ride-share drivers are independent contractors and the accident may not be covered under the ride-share company’s insurance policy. When a ride-share driver is in an accident while in between fares, or not providing fares at that time, the case increases in complexity.
Injured in a ride-share accident? We can help
Suffering injury in a car accident can be traumatic, emotionally draining, and financially difficult. Fighting for compensation for your injuries from a ride-sharing service can be frustrating and stressful. We are here to help. The personal injury lawyers at Lomurro Law are dedicated to serving those suffering injury due to another’s negligence, and have a demonstrated track record of success in securing fair compensation. If you or a loved one has sustained an injury in a motor vehicle accident, contact our office today at 732-482-9285 or online. We are available to meet with you at no cost for an initial consultation. Our offices are located in Freehold and East Brunswick, or we can meet with you at your home or hospital.