In the United States, 28 people die every day from drunk driving accidents. In addition, driving under the influence (DUI) injures 720 people each day on this country’s roadways. While a charge of DUI brings heavy penalties in most states, 29 percent of convicted drunk drivers were repeat offenders.
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious problem: more than 29 million people in the United States admit to driving while under the influence over the past year. Every day, 4,000 people are arrested in the United States for drunk driving. And 63 percent of Americans will be involved in a drunk driving accident at some point in their lifetime.
Repeat DUI offenders pose greater risk
The latest statistics on DUI show that repeat offenders pose a greater threat on the road. More than half of convicted drunk drivers – 58 percent – continue to drive with a suspended drivers’ license. On average, those who drive drunk will drive while intoxicated eighty times before being caught. The likelihood that a driver with a prior DUI conviction will become involved in fatal car accident is 4.1 times that of a first-time DUI offender. In addition, studies show that the odds of being involved in a fatal automobile accident increase with each additional DUI arrest.
New Jersey DUI laws
In New Jersey, drivers with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI). For drivers under the age of 21 years, the legal limit for BAC is 0.02%. Blood alcohol concentration is determined via a breathalyzer or blood test, administered by a law enforcement officer or medical professional. Penalties for DUI convictions are harsh in New Jersey, and increase with each offense:
- First time DUI offense: drivers’ license is revoked for three months and must serve jail time of up to 30 days. In addition, must pay a fine of $250-400, fees, a $1,000/year surcharge for three years, and participate in an alcohol education program
- Second time DUI offense within ten years of first offense: drivers’ license is revoked for two years and must serve jail time of 2 to 90 days. Mandatory participation in an alcohol education program, 30 days of community service, and installation of an ignition interlock device, in addition to paying a fine of $500-$1,000, a $1,000/year surcharge for three years, and fees
- Third time DUI offense within ten years of first offense: drivers’ license is revoked for ten years and must serve jail time of 180 days. Mandatory participation in an alcohol education program, 90 days of community service, and installation of an ignition interlock device, in addition to paying a fine of $1,000, a surcharge of $1,500/year for three years, and fees
DUI is a serious charge
A charge of driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious charge that requires a serious defense. The criminal defense lawyers at Lomurro Law has a demonstrated track record of success. With eight New Jersey Supreme Court Certified Civil Trial Attorneys, our team utilizes innovative defense strategies to protect your rights and ensure your case is handled properly and efficiently. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), assault, drug violations, or another criminal matter, contact our office to discuss your case. Contact a member of our team at 732-482-9285 or online. Lomurro Law has office locations in Freehold and East Brunswick.