New Jersey Attorneys Defend Out-Of-State DUI Claims
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is illegal in all 50 states. Under each state’s laws, any individual who drives under the influence within that state’s borders may be arrested. New Jersey residents who are arrested in other states for driving under the influence face numerous challenges. At Lomurro Law, our New Jersey DUI attorneys possess the knowledge you need to defend against out-of-state DUI charges.
How will my New Jersey license be affected if I am arrested for DUI in another state?
Nearly all 50 states participate in the Drivers License Compact. The Drivers License Compact is an agreement between 45 states.
According to the Drivers License Compact, an out-of-state driving under the influence charge may impact drivers in their home states. Driving offenses that occur in other states will be reported to the driver’s home state. In many cases, the driver’s home state will treat the charge as if it had happened in that state. This is called “domesticating” the out-of-state charge. Therefore, for New Jersey drivers, an out-of-state driving under the influence conviction may end up having the same impact as a New Jersey conviction.
What are the penalties for driving under the influence in New Jersey?
The penalties for a DUI in New Jersey vary depending on the amount of alcohol detected in one’s system and whether the individual has been charged with DUI in the past.
- If a driver’s blood alcohol content is at least .08% but less than .10%, and it is the driver’s first offense, the driver faces a license suspension of three months, jail time of up to 30 days, a fine of up to $400, and surcharges of $1,000 per year for three years.
- For a first-time offender who has a blood alcohol content of .10% or higher, the driver faces a license suspension from seven to 12 months, a jail term of up to 30 days, a fine of up to $500, and surcharges of $1,000 per year for three years.
- For second offenses, a driver’s license may be suspended two years and serve two to 90 days in jail plus additional fines and penalties. For a third or subsequent conviction, the driver faces a loss of license for 10 years and a jail term of 180 days plus additional fines and penalties.
A surcharge is a special type of fine that is imposed by the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System.
How An Attorney Strengthens Your Case
With a criminal defense attorney on your side, you may be able to raise certain defenses to your DUI case. For example, if you were stopped at an illegal checkpoint, your case may be dismissed. Your attorney carefully reviews all of the facts of your case, including why you were stopped, your blood test and Breathalyzer results (if they were taken), any eyewitness reports, and other evidence to strengthen your claims. Criminal defense lawyers know how to pinpoint any violations that law enforcement committed in your case.
Contact Our New Jersey DUI Attorneys Today
At Lomurro Law, our New Jersey DUI attorneys are experienced and skilled. We immediately recognize improper traffic stops, faulty Breathalyzer readings, and other types of evidence that may get you wrongly convicted. To schedule a consultation to discuss your claim, call 732-482-9285 or contact us online.