New Jersey Water Craft And Boating Accident Attorneys
Personal Injury Team Successfully Recovers Compensation For Injured Victims
In 2017, the United States Coast Guard recorded nearly 4,300 recreational boating accidents. With the hot summer temperatures sending many New Jersey families to the water to cool off, you may be wondering what happens if you are involved in a watercraft accident that is someone else’s fault. Boating accident lawyers at Lomurro Law, have successfully represented New Jersey families for more than 130 combined years, securing compensation for injuries resulting from all types of boating and watercraft accidents.
Water Craft Accidents And Personal Injury Claims
Water accidents may involve a motorboat, sailboat, jet ski, kayak or another type of watercraft. The type of vessel is not important. What is important is whether someone else is to blame for the accident. Personal injury law is based on the concept of negligence. When someone else has been legally negligent – exhibiting recklessness, carelessness or irresponsible behavior that contributed to the cause of the accident – then the injured party may have grounds for a personal injury claim.
Boating Accident Case Results
$3.3 Million Settlement – A young single mother was dared to dive into a marina without knowing that it had less than three feet of water. She broke her neck and injured her spine causing her to become a permanent quadriplegic.
$800,000 Settlement – Plaintiff was pushed headfirst into shallow waters and sustained serious injuries.
Shared Fault Laws In New Jersey
Proving the at-fault party was negligent is not without obstacles; the party that caused the accident often argues that the injured victim was at least somewhat responsible for the accident. If, in fact, you do share some level of liability for the accident, then the compensation you can receive will be affected. The state of New Jersey follows a “modified comparative negligence rule” in shared fault injury cases. Simply put, the compensation you are entitled to receive is reduced by an amount equal to the percentage of your responsibility. So if you bear 30% of the responsibility for the accident, then you will receive 70% of the compensation. Parties who are more than 50% responsible for the accident may not receive any compensation from the other parties.
Claims Must Be Filed Within Two Years
In New Jersey, the statute of limitations for personal injury claims is two years from the date of the accident. Personal injury claims must be filed in the court before the two-year deadline expires or the court may refuse to hear your case. If this happens, you will have given up the opportunity to receive any compensation for the injuries you sustained.
Injured In A Boating Or Water Craft Accident? We Can Help.
When you have suffered an injury in a boating or watercraft accident, the medical bills can mount rather quickly. Let us help you recover the compensation you deserve for your injuries. At Lomurro Law, our skilled New Jersey boat accident attorneys have the knowledge and experience you need when facing a serious accident claim. Contact a member of our team at 732-482-9285 or contact us online to schedule a confidential consultation.